Tuesday, March 30, 2010

More about SACC taxonomic changes

I already wrote about the split of the Blue-crowned Motmot complex, resulting in five different species adopted by the South American Classification Committee (SACC). In spite that this is the most important change for the Panama bird list (that is, for the birders), there are other taxonomic changes that are worth the checking. The most important involves the Thryothorus wrens, of which Panama has 11 representatives (or 12?). The genus Thryothorus is now restricted to North America, since all its former South American members are now included in three different genera: Pheugopedius, Thryophilus, and Cantorchilus. The new names and linear sequence (for Panama) are as follows (some species were not included in the SACC discussion because are not found in South America, they are included here according to its affinities):
  • Sooty-headed Wren Pheugopedius spadix
  • Black-throated Wren Pheugopedius atrogularis
  • Black-bellied Wren Pheugopedius fasciatoventris
  • Rufous-breasted Wren Pheugopedius rutilus
  • Rufous-and-white Wren Thryophilus rufalbus
  • Stripe-throated Wren Cantorchilus leucopogon
  • Stripe-breasted Wren Cantorchilus thoracicus
  • Bay Wren Cantorchilus nigricapillus
  • Riverside Wren Cantorchilus semibadius
  • Buff-breasted Wren Cantorchilus leucotis
  • Plain Wren Cantorchilus modestus (including zeledoni)

The other change affecting the Panama list is the recognition of the Common Gallinule (Gallinula galeata) as a full species. The differences in bill and shield shape and color are consistent with the species rank within this group. Now the Common Moorhen is restricted to the Old World.

I already included the changes in my Life List, and you?

No comments:

Post a Comment